Green Energy Fund

Overview

The Student Green Energy Fund (SGEF) is used to assist USF St. Petersburg campus in reducing greenhouse gas emissions, improving energy efficiency and meeting goals of the university’s Climate Action Plan by investing in alternative energy, reducing waste and improving conservation on campus. The fund directly involves students with sustainability initiatives and alternative energy projects that benefit the campus and the community.

FUND HISTORY  

The fund was initiated as a student-led campaign in 2007. With support from the University of South Florida Tampa’s Office of Sustainability, faculty, staff and various student organizations, the SGEF proposition was championed through the USF Board of Trustees and the Florida Board of Governors.
At USF St. Petersburg campus, SGEF is financed through a nominal student fee of $1.00 per credit hour. Students vote via a student body referendum every three years to approve initiation of the fee and affirm any subsequent modifications. The last SGEF referendum was passed in 2020 with an 79% acceptance by the USF St. Petersburg campus student body.

FUND ADMINISTRATION

The Student Energy Green Fund (SGEF) is collectively administered by the SGEF Committee, which consists of 13 individuals: 12 voting members and one Chair.

The SGEF Chair convenes the committee, oversees procedural matters, and may cast a tie-breaking vote. A simple majority of voting members (seven) is required to vote on SGEF proposals and amend the SGEF By-laws. The simple majority must consist of at least three student members and at least three faculty/staff members. Vote casting by electronic means (e.g. e-mail) may be permitted as needed but is not preferred.

SGEF legally-binding documents

SGEF Bylaws are the governing rules by which the committee operates. 

Board of Governors Student Green Energy Fund Regulation. These are binding conditions to the student green energy fund as approved by the university's board of trustees.

committee Members

The Student Green Energy Fund Committee is responsible for selecting feasible proposals for funding and implementation on campus.

Members for Academic Year 2022 - 2023

Title / Position Name Status  Contact
Chair Nathan Poinsette Student npoinsette@usf.edu
Vice Chair Iris Van Der Veen Student irisvanderveen@usf.edu
Proposal Advisor Caitlin Rivera Student caitlinrivera@usf.edu
Marketing/Events Officer Jennifer Juarez Student jenniferjuarez@usf.edu
Green Fund Manager Vacant Student   
Voting Member Mathew Cimitile Staff mcimitile@usf.edu
Voting Member James Ivey Faculty jivey@usf.edu
Voting Member John Osegovic Faculty josegovi@usf.edu
Voting Member Winnie Mulamba Faculty wmulamba@usf.edu
Voting Member Vacant  Student  
Voting Member Vacant Student  
Voting Member Vacant Staff/Faculty  
Voting Member Vacant Staff/Faculty  

Members for Academic Year 2021 - 2022.

Title / Position Name Status Contact
Chair Brianna Douglas  Student douglasb1@usf.edu

Vice Chair

Elliot Tuchfeld Student etuchfeld@usf.edu
Proposal Advisor  Logan Hill Student loganhill@usf.edu
Marketing/Events Officer  Jennifer Juarez Student jenniferjuarez@usf.edu
Green Fund Manager Vacant  Student  
Voting Member Edward Lewis Staff edwardlewis@usf.edu
Voting Member Winnie Mulamba Staff wmulamba@usf.edu
Voting Member Matt Cimitile Staff mcimitile@usf.edu
Voting Member James Ivey Faculty jivey@usf.edu
Voting Member John Osegovic Faculty josegovi@usf.edu
Voting Member Vacant student  
Voting Member Vacant Student  
Voting Member Vacant Faculty/Satff  

Members for Academic Year 2020 - 2021.


Name Title / Position Status Contact
Jewel “Min Min” Kelly Chair Student jxk@usf.edu
Brianna Douglas Vice Chair Student douglasb1@usf.edu
Jackson “Jacks” Andrew Green Fund Manager Student jfandrew@usf.edu
Nisuka Williams Marketing/Events Officer Student nisuka@usf.edu
Emma Jacobs Proposal Advisor Student emmajacobs@usf.edu
Edward Lewis Construction Manager Staff edwardlewis@usf.edu
Winnie Mulamba Sustainability Planner Staff wmulamba@usf.edu
Matt Cimitile Marketing & Comm. Officer Staff mcimitile@usf.edu
James Ivey  Voting Member Faculty jivey@usf.edu
John Osegovic  Voting Member Faculty josegovi@usf.edu
Andrea Rodriguez Campos  Voting Member Student rodriguezcam@usf.edu
Madison Delgado  Voting Member Student madison55@usf.edu
Vacant Voting Member Faculty/Satff  

 

JOINING SGEF

Students and non-students (faculty or staff) can nominate themselves to become participating members. They are voted on by the SGEF committee. After attending 5 meetings as a participating member, they can nominate themselves to become a newly elected voting member. Voting members must be confirmed through Student Government Campus Council before voting in the SGEF Committee.

To get updates via GroupMe - https://groupme.com/join_group/71248527/indIK5w4 

To be added to our Email list - https://forms.office.com/r/TdJed4d2uT